
AI Phone Answering With No Per-Minute Charges (2026)
Every AI receptionist quotes a monthly price. Almost none of them quote the same unit. One sells minutes, one sells calls, one sells "unique customers", one sells credits, and one sells a flat fee with no meter at all. The sticker price tells you what a quiet month costs. The unit tells you what a busy month costs — and a busy month is the whole reason you bought the thing.
So we did the boring work. On 21 August 2026 we opened the public pricing page of twelve phone-answering vendors — AI and human — and looked for one specific thing: does this page tell me what happens when I go past what I paid for? Not a review, not a feature comparison. Just that.
Three of the twelve publish a rate. Two say there is no meter to exceed. Seven say nothing.
One disclosure before the numbers: NoMissedCall publishes this blog and is one of the twelve. We have put our own answer in the same table as everyone else's, including the part of it that is a drawback.
The five meters hiding behind a monthly sticker price
Before the audit, it helps to know what you are actually being metered on. There are five models in circulation, and they behave very differently in a month where the phone will not stop ringing.
- Per minute. You buy a block of talk time. Long calls are expensive, short ones are cheap. Human answering services almost all work this way, and so do most minute-based AI products.
- Per call. You buy a number of conversations regardless of length. A 30-second "are you open Sunday?" costs the same as a twelve-minute intake. Smith.ai is the clearest example.
- Per unique customer. Talk time is free; you are billed on how many distinct phone numbers reach the agent in a month. Goodcall is the only vendor here using it.
- Per conversation or credit. A session becomes billable when the AI actually responds or performs a task. This is how Dialpad meters its AI agents.
- Flat, no meter. One price, with no per-call or per-minute charge on top. This is the model the phrase "no per-minute charges" is pointing at, and only two of the twelve genuinely claim it.
Mixing these units is how a small business ends up comparing one plan with another without noticing they cover roughly the same amount of answered phone. We took that apart in detail in what 200 minutes actually costs across AI, human and voicemail. This piece is the follow-up question: what does minute 201 cost?
The three that publish a rate
PATLive has the most complete price card in the category, and it is a human service. Its published tiers run $75/month pay-as-you-go at $2.60 per minute, $250/month for 75 minutes with $2.35 overage, $460/month for 200 minutes at $2.20, $720/month for 350 minutes at $2.10, and $1,170/month for 600 minutes at $2.00 — every overage rate printed next to its plan (patlive.com/pricing, as of August 2026). You may not like paying that much per minute, but you can forecast it.
Smith.ai publishes overage on both of its product lines, which is rarer than it sounds. On the human-assisted receptionist plans, the card shows $300/month for 30 calls then "$11.50/call over 30", $810/month for 90 calls at $10.50, and $2,100/month for 300 calls at $8.50 (smith.ai/pricing, as of August 2026). On the separate AI-only line, the free tier covers 25 calls a month and then charges "$3.00/call after that", with the $150/month Pro tier at about $2.00 per call and the $500/month Enterprise tier at roughly $1.67 (smith.ai/ai-receptionist, as of August 2026). Smith.ai also stacks a long list of per-call add-ons — booking appointments at $1.50 a call, an SMS or Slack notification at $0.50, recording and transcription at $0.25, a dedicated Spanish line at $1.00 (same card) — so the arithmetic is disclosed, but it is not simple.
Goodcall publishes the strangest unit and the clearest rule. Minutes, calls and AI tokens are all free; you are metered on unique callers, capped at 100, 250 and 500 a month across its $79, $129 and $249 per-agent tiers, with overage stated as "$0.50/customer" past the cap (goodcall.com/pricing, as of August 2026). Annual billing takes roughly 15% off, to $66, $108 and $208 per agent on the same card. Read that card for the limits that are not about price at all, too: the entry tier keeps only 7 days of call detail, so your own call history disappears unless you upgrade.
The two that say there is no meter
Clara — the London-built product at heyitsclara.com from 44pixels Ltd, not the unrelated getclaraai.com — states it plainly in its own FAQ: "Every plan answers unlimited calls, so a busy month costs the same as a quiet one. There are no per-call or per-minute charges on top of the plan price." Its published prices are $39.99/month, or $33.25/month billed yearly at $399, with a Pro tier at $69.99/month or $58.25 yearly at $699, and a $149.99 Premium tier marked coming soon (heyitsclara.com/us/pricing, as of August 2026). That is the strongest no-per-minute-charges claim of the twelve, and it is on the record. The thing to check before relying on it is the gap between unlimited calls and unlimited minutes: the pricing page publishes no minute allowance in either direction, so read the terms of service if your calls run long.
NoMissedCall — us — also has no overage charge, because the plan stops rather than billing you. Plans carry 250 AI minutes on Pro and 500 on Premium, and when the allowance runs out our Help Center says callers hear a brief "temporarily unavailable" message and the AI pauses until your billing date resets or you upgrade. Ring-first mode keeps working, so your own phone still rings, and any call you answer yourself uses none of the allowance. Plans are billed through the App Store and Google Play.
Be clear-eyed about what that trade actually is. "No overage" and "your AI receptionist switches off in your busiest week" are the same sentence read from two directions. A published overage rate is a bill; a hard stop is a service interruption. Which one you prefer depends on whether an unexpected charge hurts you more than a handful of unanswered calls.
The seven that tell you nothing
This is the largest group, and it includes several products likely to be on your shortlist.
Rosie, the closest direct competitor to NoMissedCall, publishes clean minute tiers — $49/month for 250 minutes, $149 for 1,000, $299 for 2,000 (heyrosie.com/pricing, as of August 2026) — and no voice overage rate anywhere on the page. It does publish an overage for its texting add-on, at $50/month for 25 conversations and "$1 per additional conversation" (same page), which suggests the omission on voice is a choice rather than an oversight.
Ruby publishes $250/month for 50 receptionist minutes, $395 for 100, $720 for 200 and $1,725 for 500, with no per-minute rate for anything past the allowance; the page points you to sales instead (ruby.com/plans-and-pricing, as of August 2026). At the entry tier that works out near $5.00 per included minute, which makes the unpublished rate above it a real question rather than a pedantic one.
Zoom entered this price band in July 2026, and its announcement gives a block price: "Standalone Zoom Virtual Agent Receptionist is available for purchase online beginning today, starting at $29.99 USD per month/100 minutes, or $24.99 USD per month/100 minutes with annual billing" (Zoom, 9 July 2026). What minute 101 costs is not stated there, and we could not find a published add-on-minute rate on Zoom's own product pages either. If you see a per-minute figure for Zoom quoted on a comparison site, treat it as unverified until Zoom prints it.
Slang.ai publishes $399/month per location for Core and $599 for Premium, and little else — no included call or minute volume, no overage rate, and, at the time of this check, no prices on its private-events or bilingual add-ons either (slang.ai/pricing, as of August 2026). For a restaurant group that is a large per-site commitment against an undisclosed ceiling.
AnswerConnect and Numa publish no pricing at all. AnswerConnect's plans page is a quote-request form (answerconnect.com/plans), and Numa is demo-request only and aimed at franchise auto dealerships rather than general small business. Any figure you find for either on an aggregator site did not come from the vendor.
Dialpad is the most interesting of the seven, because its documentation is genuinely good about the mechanism and silent about the ceiling. Its docs explain that "charges only apply when the AI Agent actually responds", that a session becomes billable once there is a customer response plus an AI lookup or task, and that a conversation is billed even when it ends in a transfer to a human (Dialpad documentation). The same page describes usage alerts as your balance is consumed, after which either auto-recharge fires or the agents pause. What one conversation costs is not in that document. We are deliberately not quoting a Dialpad seat price here, because we could not verify current figures from Dialpad's own pages — check dialpad.com/pricing directly.
The scoreboard
| Vendor | What you are metered on | What going over costs | Source, Aug 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| PATLive (human) | Human minutes | Published: $2.00–$2.60 per minute by tier | patlive.com |
| Smith.ai (human plans) | Calls | Published: $8.50–$11.50 per call | smith.ai |
| Smith.ai (AI plans) | Calls | Published: $1.67–$3.00 per call | smith.ai |
| Goodcall | Unique callers per month | Published: $0.50 per extra caller | goodcall.com |
| Clara (heyitsclara.com) | Nothing — flat fee | States no per-call or per-minute charge | heyitsclara.com |
| NoMissedCall | AI minutes (250 or 500) | No charge — AI pauses until reset or upgrade | Help Center |
| Rosie | AI minutes | Not published for voice | heyrosie.com |
| Ruby (human) | Receptionist minutes | Not published | ruby.com |
| Zoom Virtual Agent Receptionist | 100-minute blocks | Not published | news.zoom.com |
| Slang.ai | Not disclosed | Not published | slang.ai |
| Dialpad | Billable AI conversations | Mechanism documented, rate not published | help.dialpad.com |
| AnswerConnect and Numa | Not disclosed | Quote only | answerconnect.com |
What we are and are not claiming
This is an audit of published pages, not of contracts. Every vendor above may well quote you a perfectly reasonable overage rate on a sales call, and several of the silent ones are excellent products. "Not published" means exactly that: it was not on the vendor's own public pricing page on 21 August 2026. We checked vendors' own sites only and ignored pricing aggregators, because in this category several of them disagree with the vendors themselves.
Two other limits worth stating. Prices move, so treat every figure here as of August 2026 and click the source before you sign anything. And we have not tested whether the silent vendors round partial minutes up, which can matter more than the headline rate when your calls are short.
Where the others beat us
Honest comparison means naming the places NoMissedCall loses, and on this specific question there are several.
Clara's flat model is simply a better answer than ours for a business with unpredictable volume. If your phone rings hundreds of times in a storm week, unlimited calls with no per-minute charge beats an AI that pauses at 250 minutes, and Clara's entry price is published and low. Rosie's middle tier buys 1,000 minutes — four times our Pro allowance — which makes its missing overage rate much less likely to matter in practice, and Rosie ships real iOS and Android apps just as we do. Goodcall's model is the right shape for anyone whose calls are few and long, because talk time genuinely is free there. And Smith.ai, for all the per-call arithmetic, offers something no AI-only product can: a trained human being on the line when a call needs one, priced on a card you can read in advance.
If your call volume is high and steady, a flat unlimited plan or a larger minute tier is a better fit than ours, and we would rather say so here than have you discover it in month two. Our own pitch is narrower: for an owner-operator who answers plenty of calls personally and wants the phone covered for the rest, ring-first plus a fixed allowance means you pay for coverage of the calls you would otherwise have missed, with no bill you did not expect.
Four questions to ask before you sign
- What is the unit? Minutes, calls, unique callers, conversations or nothing. Convert every quote into the same unit before you compare, or the comparison is meaningless.
- What is the rate past the allowance, in writing? If it is not on the pricing page, ask for it by email before you pay. A vendor that will not put it in writing has told you something.
- At the ceiling, is it a bill or a stop? Both are defensible. Only one of them can surprise you on a statement, and only one of them can leave your line unanswered.
- Do partial minutes round up, and are transfers billed? Dialpad documents that a transferred conversation still bills. Very few vendors publish a rounding rule, and on short calls rounding moves the real cost per minute more than the advertised rate does.
The bottom line
No per-minute charges is a real and checkable claim, and in this audit exactly two of twelve vendors made it on the record: Clara, with a flat unlimited-calls model, and NoMissedCall, which charges no overage because service pauses instead. Three more — PATLive, Smith.ai and Goodcall — do the next best thing and print the rate. The other seven leave the most expensive month of your year undefined on the page.
None of that decides which product answers your phone best. It does decide which quotes you can actually compare. If you want the ranked product view next, we compared the AI receptionist apps you can run entirely from a phone; if you are the sort of person who suspects you could build this yourself, we priced that out on Twilio and Vapi. Setup and call-forwarding instructions live in the Help Center.
Frequently asked questions
Which AI phone answering services have no per-minute charges?
In our August 2026 audit of twelve vendors' published pricing pages, two stated on the record that there is no per-minute meter. Clara (heyitsclara.com) says every plan answers unlimited calls with no per-call or per-minute charges on top of the plan price. NoMissedCall charges no overage either, but for a different reason: when your monthly AI minutes run out the AI pauses until your billing date resets or you upgrade, rather than billing you extra.
What is a typical AI receptionist overage rate?
There is no typical rate, because most vendors do not publish one. Among those that do, as of August 2026: Goodcall charges $0.50 per unique caller past its plan cap, Smith.ai charges $1.67 to $3.00 per call on its AI-only plans and $8.50 to $11.50 per call on its human-assisted plans, and the human service PATLive charges $2.00 to $2.60 per minute depending on tier. Rosie, Ruby, Zoom and Slang.ai publish no overage rate at all.
Is unlimited calls the same as unlimited minutes?
Not necessarily. A plan can cap nothing on call count while still limiting talk time in its terms of service, and pricing pages that advertise unlimited calls often publish no minute allowance in either direction. If your calls routinely run long, ask the vendor in writing whether a minute or fair-use limit sits behind the unlimited-calls claim before you rely on it.
Is a flat fee always cheaper than a per-minute plan?
No. At low volume a small metered plan can cost less in absolute dollars than a flat fee, because you only pay for the calls you actually get. Flat pricing wins on predictability rather than on price: it removes the risk that your bill scales with a busy month. The right question is not which is cheaper on average, but which one you can forecast.
What happens if my AI receptionist runs out of minutes?
It depends entirely on the vendor, which is why it is worth asking before you sign. Some bill an overage rate per extra minute, call or conversation. Some pause the service until the next billing cycle. Dialpad's documentation describes usage alerts and then either an automatic recharge or the agents pausing. On NoMissedCall, callers hear a brief unavailable message and the AI pauses, while ring-first mode keeps ringing your own phone.
Try it on your own phone
No Missed Call is an AI receptionist that answers your business line 24/7, books appointments straight into your calendar, and sends you a transcript and summary of every call. Setup takes minutes from your phone, and there is a 7-day free trial.
Download on the App Store · Get it on Google Play · Read the Help Center